A Clinical Approach to Pediatric Heart Murmurs

How to diagnose a heart murmur in a child?

Sounds that are heard between heart sounds - the thump of muscle contractions - are called murmurs. They should not be in a healthy heart.

Article content

Why are there noises?

The mechanism of heart murmur is that pathological changes in the heart muscle or the great vessels surrounding the heart cause their narrowing or reverse blood flow.

How to diagnose a heart murmur in a child?

This happens for various reasons: for example, a defect in the formation of cardiac septa or a narrowing of the great vessels in the pathology of heart valves. Distinguish between systolic and diastolic murmurs. Systolic murmurs in the heart of a newborn are not considered dangerous, they occur during the adaptation period during the final formation of the organic system.

The causes of diastolic murmurs need to be clarified in detail - they indicate pathology.

For the first time, the state of the cardiovascular system is assessed immediately after childbirth. If violations are detected, additional examinations are prescribed - ECG and X-ray. Babies are re-examined at the age of one month - ultrasound is added to the hardware diagnostics - and 3 times upon reaching a year. If the child belongs to a risk group, during this time violations can be identified and the necessary measures taken.

The heart - structure and function

The functions of the heart are known: it drives blood through the body, saturating it with oxygen. If it stops, life is interrupted. But how does it work?

The heart consists entirely of muscle tissue. There are 4 chambers inside the organ: atria - left and right, ventricles - also left and right.

How to diagnose a heart murmur in a child?

The chambers are separated by partitions, and the atrioventricular valves - mitral and tricuspid - are located between the atria and the ventricles. The vessels that extend from the ventricles also have valves. The left ventricle is equipped with an aorta with an aortic valve, the right ventricle with a pulmonary artery with a tricuspid valve.

Heart sounds that we hear in the form of a pulse or, pressing against the chest, with the ear, are sounds that are emitted by valves, rhythmically closing. When the heart muscle relaxes - diastole - the chambers are filled with blood, the left ventricular valve opens; in systole, blood is expelled from the chambers into the vessels -the tricuspid valve contracts.

Why is there a heart murmur in a newborn?

The causes of a heart murmur in a newborn are disturbances in the work of the heart, when its tones change the nature of the sound or intensity.

This happens in such cases:

How to diagnose a heart murmur in a child?
  • if turbulence occurs, normal blood flow is impaired;
  • the flow rate changes if the holes in the valves, ventricles or septa are abnormal in size;
  • with congenital heart defects;
  • due to valve stenosis or insufficiency;
  • with minor developmental anomalies - improper positioning of papillary muscles or tendon strings - if they are deviated from their normal position, then vortices are formed in the bloodstream;
  • if there is a congenital defect - a duct in the area between the heart septa or an extra vessel between the arteries.

During the prenatal period - until the lungs work - the fetus needs ducts between the ventricles. But they should close at the first breath. A heart defect appears with underdevelopment or pathology of the cardiovascular system.

Noise classification

Functional or harmless murmurs occur in 40% of infants. They are detected in the first days after birth and pass on their own, their appearance is justified by the adaptation of the body to extrauterine conditions of existence. Hardware examination does not reveal any pathologies.

How to diagnose a heart murmur in a child?

Pathological noises. Their presence may be accompanied by the following symptoms: cyanosis, shortness of breath, shortness of breath or rapid breathing; or just listen during the examination. If hardware diagnostics did not reveal significant changes, very often doctors take the position of observers - this is how adaptation proceeds or latent malformations manifest themselves. The baby is examined 1-2 weeks after birth, depending on the general condition, and then a decision is made whether treatment is needed or not.

Congenital murmurs are detected in the first hours of a baby's life. Their causes - developmental defects - are found out immediately. People can live their whole lives with a minor vice. If the concomitant symptoms with heart murmurs in a newborn are respiratory and reflex insufficiency, cyanosis or cyanosis of the skin, developmental delay, then treatment should be started immediately after the pathology is detected. In most cases, surgical interventions are performed.

A heart murmur can also be acquired in nature - a baby can get sick immediately after birth, or get complications from an infection in the first year of life.

Against the background of infection, the inflammatory process engulfs the heart valves, which causes dysfunction of the heart. One of these acquired pathologies is rheumatism.

Disease Diagnostics

Even a small heart murmur in a newborn requires seryegreat attention. If a baby is diagnosed with it at birth, diagnostic measures must be started to determine the mechanism of the pathology.

How to diagnose a heart murmur in a child?

Anamnesis is studied - genetic factors, bad habits of parents, the course of pregnancy is analyzed - if there is a possibility of a cardiac disease, it must be identified from the very beginning.

The baby is referred for a consultation with a cardiologist, and hardware diagnostic procedures - ECG, ultrasound, heart X-ray, EchoCG with Doppler ultrasonography - are repeated.

What examinations are needed is determined by the doctor. If pathologies are detected, a therapeutic scheme is developed and the necessary therapeutic measures are prescribed.

Elimination of cardiovascular disorders

There is no specific treatment for heart murmurs. The decision is made by the doctor for each small patient individually, based on an assessment of the clinical picture.

Conventionally, babies in the first year of life are divided into 3 categories.

How to diagnose a heart murmur in a child?
  • 1 - heart pathology is incompatible with life. They are immediately sent to a cardiology and hospital for the necessary treatment. If the correction of intrauterine pathology has been successful, in the future such children are prescribed supportive therapy and they are registered with a cardiologist;
  • 2 - concomitant pathologies interfere with the operation. There are quite a few newborns of groups 1 and 2 among all babies - about 15%. It is very disappointing that most parents themselves are to blame for this outcome - bad habits against the background of unhealthy heredity or acquired diseases, pathology arises in the formation and development of the cardiovascular system in the fetus;
  • 3 is the largest group. Cardiological disorders in infants are minimal, and if, with dispensary observation and treatment, the development of disorders can be slowed down - in the future, children can lead a normal life.

Parents should not panic when detecting heart murmurs in babies. At the current level of development of medicine, most developmental disorders are corrected in the first year of life with the help of drug treatment or cardiac surgery.

In the future, minimal adjustments will be enough, and the child will begin to lead a normal life. Its quality depends entirely on the attention and economic capabilities of the parents.

If my child's heart murmur is innocent, what does that mean for them?

Previous Post The main forms of the female breast: what are they?
Next Post Cooking burger sauce: tips for fast food lovers

L'Insuffisance Cardiaque chez l'enfant Retrouvez nous sur www.giccardio.fr

Comment diagnostiquer un souffle cardiaque chez un enfant?

Les sons entendus entre les bruits cardiaques - le bruit sourd des contractions musculaires - sont appelés murmures. Ils ne devraient pas avoir un cœur sain.

Contenu de l'article

Pourquoi y a-t-il des bruits?

Le mécanisme du souffle cardiaque est que les modifications pathologiques du muscle cardiaque ou des grands vaisseaux entourant le cœur provoquent leur rétrécissement ou inversent le flux sanguin.

Comment diagnostiquer un souffle cardiaque chez un enfant?

Cela se produit pour diverses raisons: par exemple, un défaut de formation de septa cardiaques ou un rétrécissement des gros vaisseaux en cas de pathologie valvulaire cardiaque. Distinguer les souffles systoliques et diastoliques. Les souffles systoliques au coeur d'un nouveau-né ne sont pas considérés comme dangereux, ils surviennent pendant la période d'adaptation avec la formation finale du système organique.

Les causes des souffles diastoliques doivent être clarifiées en détail - elles indiquent une pathologie.

Pour la première fois, l'état du système cardiovasculaire est évalué immédiatement après l'accouchement. Si des violations sont détectées, des examens supplémentaires sont prescrits - ECG et radiographie. Les bébés sont réexaminés à l'âge d'un mois - l'échographie est ajoutée au diagnostic matériel - et 3 fois après avoir atteint un an. Si l'enfant appartient à un groupe à risque, pendant ce temps les violations peuvent être identifiées et les mesures nécessaires prises.

Le cœur - structure et fonction

Les fonctions du cœur sont connues: il fait circuler le sang dans le corps, le saturant d'oxygène. S'il s'arrête, la vie est interrompue. Mais comment ça marche?

Le cœur est entièrement constitué de tissu musculaire. Il y a 4 chambres à l'intérieur de l'orgue: oreillettes - gauche et droite, ventricules - également gauche et droite.

Comment diagnostiquer un souffle cardiaque chez un enfant?

Les chambres sont séparées par des cloisons et les valves auriculo-ventriculaires - mitrale et tricuspide - sont situées entre les oreillettes et les ventricules. Les vaisseaux qui s'étendent des ventricules ont également des valves. Le ventricule gauche est équipé d'une aorte avec une valve aortique, le droit avec une artère pulmonaire avec une valve tricuspide.

Les sons cardiaques que nous entendons sous la forme d'une impulsion ou, en appuyant contre la poitrine, avec l'oreille, sont les sons que font les valves, se fermant rythmiquement. Lorsque le muscle cardiaque se détend - diastole - les chambres sont remplies de sang, la valve ventriculaire gauche s'ouvre; dans la systole, le sang est expulsé des chambres dans les vaisseaux -la valve tricuspide se contracte.

Pourquoi un nouveau-né a-t-il un souffle cardiaque?

Les causes des souffles cardiaques chez un nouveau-né sont des perturbations du travail du cœur, lorsque ses tons changent la nature du son ou son intensité.

Cela se produit dans de tels cas:

Comment diagnostiquer un souffle cardiaque chez un enfant?
  • en cas de turbulence, la circulation sanguine normale est altérée;
  • le débit change si les trous des valves, ventricules ou septa sont de taille anormale;
  • avec des malformations cardiaques congénitales;
  • en raison d'une sténose ou d'une insuffisance valvulaire;
  • avec des anomalies développementales mineures - mauvais positionnement des muscles papillaires ou des cordons tendineux - s'ils sont déviés de leur position normale, des tourbillons se forment dans la circulation sanguine;
  • s'il y a une anomalie congénitale - un conduit dans la zone entre les septa cardiaques ou un vaisseau supplémentaire entre les artères.

Pendant la période intra-utérine - jusqu'à ce que les poumons fonctionnent - le fœtus a besoin de conduits entre les ventricules. Mais ils devraient se fermer au premier souffle. Une malformation cardiaque apparaît avec un sous-développement ou une pathologie du système cardiovasculaire.

Classification du bruit

Des souffles fonctionnels ou inoffensifs surviennent chez 40% des nourrissons. Ils sont détectés dans les premiers jours après la naissance et passent d'eux-mêmes, leur apparition est justifiée par l'adaptation de l'organisme aux conditions d'existence extra-utérines. L'examen du matériel ne révèle aucune pathologie.

Comment diagnostiquer un souffle cardiaque chez un enfant?

Bruits pathologiques. Leur présence peut être accompagnée des symptômes suivants: cyanose, essoufflement, essoufflement ou respiration rapide; ou écoutez simplement pendant l'examen. Si le diagnostic matériel n'a pas révélé de changements significatifs, très souvent les médecins prennent la position d'observateurs - c'est ainsi que se déroule l'adaptation ou les malformations latentes se manifestent. Le bébé est examiné 1 à 2 semaines après la naissance - en fonction de l'état général, puis une décision est prise si un traitement est nécessaire ou non.

Les souffles congénitaux sont détectés dans les premières heures de la vie d'un bébé. Leurs causes - les défauts de développement - sont découvertes immédiatement. Les gens peuvent vivre toute leur vie avec un vice mineur. Si les symptômes concomitants avec des souffles cardiaques chez un nouveau-né sont une insuffisance respiratoire et réflexe, une cyanose ou une cyanose de la peau, un retard de développement, le traitement doit être instauré immédiatement après la détection de la pathologie. Dans la plupart des cas, des interventions chirurgicales sont effectuées.

Un souffle cardiaque peut également être contracté dans la nature - un bébé peut tomber malade immédiatement après la naissance ou avoir des complications d'une infection au cours de sa première année de vie.

Dans le contexte de l'infection, le processus inflammatoire engloutit les valves cardiaques, ce qui provoque un dysfonctionnement du cœur. L'une de ces pathologies acquises est le rhumatisme.

Diagnostic des maladies

Même un petit souffle cardiaque chez un nouveau-né nécessite un séryegrande attention. Si un bébé en est diagnostiqué à la naissance, des mesures diagnostiques doivent être lancées pour déterminer le mécanisme de la pathologie.

Comment diagnostiquer un souffle cardiaque chez un enfant?

L'anamnèse est étudiée - facteurs génétiques, mauvaises habitudes des parents, le déroulement de la grossesse est analysé - s'il existe une possibilité de maladie cardiologique, elle doit être identifiée dès le début.

Le bébé est référé pour une consultation avec un cardiologue et les procédures de diagnostic matériel - ECG, échographie, radiographie cardiaque, EchoCG avec échographie Doppler - sont répétées.

Les examens nécessaires sont déterminés par le médecin. Si des pathologies sont détectées, un schéma thérapeutique est développé et les mesures thérapeutiques nécessaires sont prescrites.

Élimination des troubles cardiovasculaires

Il n'y a pas de traitement spécifique pour les souffles cardiaques. La décision est prise par le médecin pour chaque petit patient individuellement, sur la base d'une évaluation du tableau clinique.

Par convention, les bébés de la première année de vie sont divisés en 3 catégories.

Comment diagnostiquer un souffle cardiaque chez un enfant?
  • 1 - la pathologie cardiaque est incompatible avec la vie. Ils sont immédiatement envoyés dans un hôpital cardiologique pour le traitement nécessaire. Si la correction de la pathologie intra-utérine réussit, ces enfants se voient prescrire une thérapie de soutien et sont enregistrés auprès d'un cardiologue;
  • 2 - des pathologies concomitantes interfèrent avec l'opération. Il y a pas mal de nouveau-nés des groupes 1 et 2 parmi tous les bébés - environ 15%. Il est très décevant que la plupart des parents eux-mêmes soient responsables de ce résultat - mauvaises habitudes sur fond d'hérédité malsaine ou de maladies acquises, une pathologie survient dans la formation et le développement du système cardiovasculaire chez le fœtus;
  • 3 est le plus grand groupe. Les troubles cardiaques chez les nourrissons sont minimes et si, grâce à l'observation et au traitement dispensés, le développement des troubles peut être ralenti, les enfants peuvent mener une vie normale à l'avenir.

Les parents ne doivent pas paniquer lorsqu'ils détectent des souffles cardiaques chez les bébés. Au niveau actuel de développement de la médecine, la plupart des troubles du développement sont corrigés au cours de la première année de vie à l'aide d'un traitement médicamenteux ou d'une chirurgie cardiaque.

À l'avenir, des ajustements minimes suffiront et l'enfant commencera à mener une vie normale. Sa qualité dépend entièrement de l'attention et des capacités économiques des parents.

Chez l'enfant : Diagnostic des maladies cardiaques héréditaires

Post précédent Les principales formes du sein féminin: quelles sont-elles?
Prochain article Cuisson de la sauce burger: conseils pour les amateurs de restauration rapide